Home > Uncategorized > The Quest

The Quest

I mentioned one of my posts (<– look at that I learned how to link a post! yay me!) that I was on a quest for the perfect slice of Italian wedding cake.

I should preface this by explaining how I’ve established better eating habits lately and sugar is one of the things I’ve toned done quite a bit on.  I loves me some sugar, but the combination of my hypothyroidism and my asshole PCP who will not up my meds, I need to make a change. Boo!

Last night I headed to the North End with my girls.  We asked for Italian wedding cake and basically they told me I would need to make an appointment with the “cake person”, so that was that.  After a bit of Googling while my kids ogled the pastry cases, I realized there are many types of Italian recipes that are used for wedding cake.  So we each picked a slice and brought them home.

Here’s a picture you can ogle at.

The jury is back.  We used a scale of 1-10.

Strawberry Shortcake

Me: 6  I really would’ve like it more if it was just slices of fresh strawberries

Haley: 5  “I like the top half, but the strawberry half is gross.”

Rory: “mmm, dis good”

Rum Cake

Me: 9

Haley: 7

Rory: “mmm, dis good”

Chocolate Mouse Cake

Me: 8.5

Haley: 10

Rory: “mmm, dis good”

We all went to bed happy and full last night.  My body however, went into sugar shock I think.  I woke up at 2am, with what felt like a baby cake alien trying to dig it’s way out of my stomach with a rusty fork.  I prayed for puke thinking it would give me some relief, but I instead spent the following 2 1/2 hours in the fetal position on my bed in a cold sweat begging for mercy.

It was totally worth it.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. October 8, 2010 at 2:03 am

    yum! carbs with refined everything! my personal poison err I mean favorite! I would have succumbed to the temptation too! lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

